When you realise your own language is sometimes uglyweird…

OK I’m french. My english is a frenglish, it’s rusty and wobbly, et voilà. Try me, though. I’ll do my best. I promise. If sometimes it’s too bad, just laugh at me or roll you eyes.

Well, le Français, c’est ma langue maternelle. I speak French since I speak, and so there. But sometimes I talk with people from other countries, and always comes a moment… well… it’s embarrassing.

They say : “Are you crazy or what ?”. Or something similar, meaning ça va pas la tête ?

For example, to say “92” you say Ninety Two and that’s done. Good. Belgium people say Nonante Deux and it’s the same. But in France we say “Quatre-vingt douze”, which is complety twisted, something like “4 X 20 + 12”, which is correct, but, you know, hahahahaha.

For example, when you say “Last week”, we say “La semaine dernière”, but also “Il y a huit jours”, which means “Eight days ago”.

What ?!

“It’s not eight days, but seven, so why do we say eight ?”. I don’t know. Sorry. Plus : for two weeks we say “Il y a quinze jours”, which means “Fifteen days ago” : this is just wrong. Well…

There’s no tool here. Just an idea : if you want to learn french, prepare yourself to wander with a huge question mark above your head. A blue, white, red one maybe.

2015-06-24_1435173523

Leave a Reply

