How to go back to quiet silent daydreaming summers ?

When I was a teenager, let’s say in 1981, there were 3 channels on French TV (TF1, Antenne 2 et France 3). Music was on some LPs, and there was no Internet, no Pokemon Go, no cellphone. Some rare rich fathers had an Apple II. The Sinclair ZX-81 was just showing its nose…

Useless to say that when you got something “interesting” into your hands, it was amazing.

I remember that summer ! I was 15, and I got this Casio Programmable Calculator FX-702P, and I asked my parents to order a few L’Ordinateur de Poche, a magazine about these new “Pocket Computers”.

I read them, re-read them, tried every Basic program, and spent weeks trying to program a standard Battleship – not the game, just a way to “place the boats” (one the size of 4 squares, two 3 squares, three 2 squares and four 1 square – the submarines !). The memory of my Casio was too small so I had think about a way to optimize it (interlacing 2 loops, etc).

This summer I borrowed some LPs. The Blue Beatles sampler, with the lyrics, kept me busy for weeks.

I remember me as a kid watching clouds for hours in summers. La rêverie is a pretty good French word for daydreaming (we could say “dreamery”, right ?). Getting bored, at this time, at this age, was triggering imagination instead of Netflix…

Slumber or Torpor ? I think I didn’t find the good english word to translate our “torpeur”. When the sun is brûlant, days are long and quiet, tout est calme et you don’t have any mission or money to make/win. You watch clouds and just try to be happy. You play frisbee, you watch ants, you bike with friends. Les merveilleux nuages…

Lever : You really can find back this state. You just have to cut THREE things : TV, Smartphone, and Internet. Nothing much after all…

Then you will have to search in the old “real” world (books, things in attics, CDs and LPs). This provides a bouquet of another things : a slower focused brain rhythm, a hunger, a desire to create maybe, some imagination, some creativity.

It can also trigger a big boredom too. Well… C’est la vie !

 

#casio #vintage #fx702p #calculator
#casio #vintage #fx702p #calculator
Leave a Reply

