Star Wars Rogue One, a Father & Kid story…

No spoiler here, don’t worry !

I think there’s a perfect age to watch some movies. I met people who showed Jurassic Park or Harry Potter to terrified 5 years old kids. No good !! Mais enfin !

My father took me by the hand at the age of ten, to see Stars Wars a New Hope, in 1977. He was 40. No internet, no trailers, it was a full pure discovery for me, and I remember this as if it was yesterday.

Now kids watch these movies on big TVs, they know things about Vader, Luke, Yoda and so on, I suppose, they saw photos, and trailers, it’s no big deal, it’s just different.

Today I went to the theater to see Rogue One – A Star Wars Story, which happens “just before” a New Hope. I loved it so much ! The casting is great, but also the music, the battles, and the mood of the seventies is present, without being sarcastic or retro. I found it real and delightful.

I saw it today, in 2017, 40 years after the other one. I’m now 50 years old. My father died two months ago. He was 80.

This loop : 10/40 – 50/80 makes my 50 very special. I like to find patterns, and today I maybe have vertigo about that. And Carrie Fisher just died too. She was… 60.

This movie happens just before A New Hope… which is exactly my mood these days.

Hope, loss, old promises. This is a little solemn, right ? My next blog article will be about this ! Back on inventing tools for you.

Have a nice day. Thanks for reading !

694672780243330449_40270600

 

Leave a Reply

