In French, there’s a SPACE between the word and the exclamation point

In English :

  • GO!
  • Do you Love me?

In French :

  • ALLEZ !
  • Dis, tu m’aimes ?

Well, so what? Oh, nothing, dear! But it’s SO deeply rooted in me that when I write in English I have to think about it. It bothers me like a “mistake I have to write”. I gives a tight aspect of the end of the phrase. And each time I write in French, I feel relieved, like, errr, when a woman takes off her bra after a long day. Ahhhhh.

Aaaah, relief!

Aaaah, quel soulagement !

It’s like… well… It’s like the end of the phrase needed some AIR. I like to imagine that… it’s linked with our sense of slowness. La promenade. There’s no hurry to put a “!”, let it breathe, voilà.

 

Thanks for reading ! For reading!, sorry. Follow me!

#snoopy #charliebrown #peanuts #comics

 

 

One thought on “In French, there’s a SPACE between the word and the exclamation point

  1. Denise Degelos January 22, 2017 / 8:11 pm

    Same thing for me the other way around. I get annoyed that I have to put the space when I write in French. It’s so silly but it even bothers me when my students put the space. They are just personal pet peeves I guess.

    Like

Leave a Reply

