Those who type “fast” with two fingers hahaha #dactylo #writing

In France like in many countries, people use computers all the time, at work and at home. But you will barely find one human being who learned how to type. It’s not even deliberate, they just don’t think about it, voilà!

When I was about 25, I bought a little app on my Macintosh Plus and I worked like half an hour, daily. It’s been a little painful (no lesson could be climbed until I got a certain ration mistakes/speed), but after two months I was able to use all my fingers without looking at them.

Yeaaah I’m always a little proud when I see the jaw of a “I type fast I’m a geek” colleague who watches me writing an email three times faster, without quitting my bond eye/screen, “How do you do that?”.

They think I am fast, voilà. Of course I am, that’s the point : 10 fingers against 2! But…

It’s difficult to tell them that typing gives you a much more important power :

As you don’t have to continuously watch your fingers, as you see the text unfolding on the screen, it’s as if your brain was connected to the letters’ appearance. You go fast (there is no more “finger interface” : your hands work alone as they don’t need control from you, it’s a dance they do, like your feet when you walk) PLUS you pour your ideas into letters.

No, it’s impossible to tell them. Jaw up, Joe. It’s not that hard.

Tool : Learn how to type! It’s more than a speed issue, much more.

Merci et bonne journée!

colin-dodgson_-_no_dear__i_don_t_need_a_hand__i_need_a_face_-_mrs_doubtfire

Instagrammer : colin.dodgson

2 thoughts on “Those who type “fast” with two fingers hahaha #dactylo #writing

  1. Rachel McAlpine February 12, 2017 / 12:48 am

    Well said! I learned to touch-type on a Baby Hermes typewriter in 3 weeks. We had moved to Geneva, I couldn’t get a job teaching in mid-term (if ever), so I thought, how hard can this be? I still made a terrifying number of errors, but I quickly got a job at the British Consulate General. Power indeed.

    Like

  2. The Beauty of Life February 13, 2017 / 8:22 pm

    I loved that I was able to take typing in high school-I got pretty fast at it and it’s helped me tremendously when writing and texting

    Like

Leave a Reply

