Signs of Bad Signs : our shades of narcissism

DSM (Manual of Mental Disorders) Labels are frightening. You read the list and you’ll find you have ALL disorders. You’re bipolar, antisocial, autistic and narcissistic, haha, and probably crazy enough to be locked away from society. All of us. All in prison, voilà.

You’ll probably agree that we have all at least a little percentage of every disorder, right?

Today I wonder if I’m not a narcissistic. And all of you in the same basket, so there!!

Wikipedia says :

“Narcissistic personality disorder (NPD) is a personality disorder (…) characterized by exaggerated feelings of self-importance, an excessive need for admiration, and a lack of understanding of others’ feelings.”

Well, we all need to have this, OK? Cut the “exaggerated” word and here we are : as long as I didn’t reach the oriental “no ego” state, I need to feel a spoon of self-importance to stay happy, I clearly seek approval in many moments of my life, and if I know I’m often too empathetic, there are moments I don’t get other people, their choices seem sooo weird at times…

So I’m 25% narcissistic, is that it, Doctor?

I googled and found terrible things on the web, from “happiness blogs” to therapists articles and I copy/pasted a few ladles of sentences for you.

Une “personnalité narcissique”, c’est terrible! I hope you’ll never meet this kind of person, they seem to be a MESS :

  • They want to be in control and if they can’t they are nasty and biting
  • Perfectionists : “you’re never good enough”
  • Put others down : nastiness as a sport – they have to win – “I’m better than you”
  • “You’re just……………” add here any definition. Labeling you.
  • Pedestal someone to hate someone else (hey, that’s tricky!)
  • Fear of love and other emotions, all of them are “drama”
  • “You have to change”
  • “When things go wrong between us, it’s always your fault”
  • Introverted narcissists : hypersensitive, defensive and anxious
  • “You don’t understand me”
  • Grandiose projects (which lead to crashes, dramas, failures)
  • Never really open (control!), they forbid themselves to be vulnerable
  • Seek appreciation, deserved admiration
  • Selfish
  • “Make some efforts”
  • Use others to entertain
  • Never wrong, never his fault, “externalize blame”
  • “You’re too sensitive” (a label, again : “YOU are”, never “I am”)
  • Use others to get stronger then trash them – “take advantage to people”
  • Accusing others of what they do (“She’s unstable, grandiose, she’s bipolar“)

Oh my. That’s worse than DSM! Run, boy, run!

Thanks for reading. It’s summer!

1309919144199623178_259996796.jpg

One thought on “Signs of Bad Signs : our shades of narcissism

Leave a Reply

